English Garden Inspiration…

10th June, 2009 at 10:00 pm (Uncategorized)

Wow.  This was the first time in 3 retreats that I actually got to sit down and join my guests for some scrapping time, and it was fantastic!!!  I actually got 3 layouts done, I can’t believe it!

Here are two that I created over the weekend with the English Garden kit.  More to follow from Dee soon…

boy‘Boy’ by Steph Parsloe

The whole kit just screams outdoors and summertime, so my first layout was this gorgeous piccie of my son playing on the ‘spinny thing’ as we like to call it in the park in Melbourne.  It’s a simple bold picture, so I went for simple and bold when I put the page together.  I’ve kept the red and blue through the page picking out my sons jeans and the red on his mariokart hoody.  I cut the title from the Jenni Bowlin journal paper on the cricut (Cuttin’ Up cart) and mounted onto red to make it stand out, and the bracket is the edge of the JB label paper.

cream-tea

cream-tea-close

‘Cream Tea’ by Steph Parsloe

Yet another thing that screams British Summer – the quintessential Cream Tea, we grab one whenever we can, and this was my son’s first one when we went for a good long stroll around Sandringham in April (yep, I stalk the queen! lol) They both looked so grown up in the photos I took whilst we were there, and it was lovely to have them actually behave in public.  I wanted this layout to be more ‘thoughtful’ than fun, using the apples and cherry journal spots to highlight the fruity jam, the sandbox dotted swiss card for the scones, and the cream bunting trim for the …. cream! lol It’s my own ‘scrapbook cream tea’ – One of the ladies on our retreat – Emma – was absolutely fab, and makes bunting to hire out, which combined with her amazing challenge layout gave me the idea for the ‘bunting’ on the page.

I’ll try to hunt out the photo of her page, as it was really really good.  In fact, I must chase up that Claire for the rest of the photees!

Right, hopefully we’ll have some more ideas up for you very soon, including some creations with the Story Teller kit.

Keep popping back as we also are expecting our delivery of Bella! goodies from Australia this week, and the new Vintage Romance is waiting to go online, and it’s scrumptious.  Wait till you see what Claire has done with it!

S x

2 Comments

  1. Elaine said,

    awwww so cute Steph = gorgeous layouts too hun

  2. jackie said,

    so pleased to here u had a some ‘me time’ at this retreat. love the lo’s, and the new kits, only wished i had the pennies to buy the kits. take care lol jackie x

Leave a Reply

