Wedding season begins….

19th May, 2009 at 8:45 pm (Uncategorized)

I don’t know if anyone else finds themselves in a similar place at this time of the year, but this Saturday marks the start of the ‘wedding season’ in our family, with my lovely ‘cousin-in-laws’ wedding in Derby (is that even a type of relation!?) which I absolutely can’t wait for.

Kids are being babysat, so we can enjoy the day in peace…. lovely….

However, I haven’t sorted an outfit, been far too busy helping with the crafty side of the wedding.  My to do list for the first wedding was:

1) Post Box for wedding cards / money gifts – it was bought flat, and myself and the lovely Dee decorated it some time ago

2) Make a card for my cousins mum to give to her – of course this had to be the most lovely, thoughtful and special card I could muster

3) 5 Thank you cards for Kate to give to parents and bridesmaids

4) Table decorations

5) Readings

And tonight, Kate and I have finally finished it all… I’m pretty safe to show you all the work, as they are not particularly ‘geeky’ so probably not reading this, so here we go:

Firstly – card from parents:

(The photo is printed onto the Stix2 canvas sheet, as I thought it warranted a special photo on their card)

IMG_2831

Thank you cards for chief bridesmaid and parents:

IMG_2833

Bridesmaids cards.  Two of them are 4 and the other is around 8, so although they are getting presents for being bridesmaids, I wanted to make them a card which would be remembered, or could be kept and treasured, so decided to make each of them a simple elastic beaded bracelet and fix it on to their card – definitely not something they could have bought in the shops!

IMG_2835

IMG_2842

Give me a photo and pretty paper, and I can scrap, make a mini book, anything.  Give me a card blank, and my mind goes as blank as that little bit of card.  I cannot for the life of me think of anything to do with cards, so to complete all these this weekend is a MASSIVE achievement for me, and I’m actually pretty proud of them.

Now comes the hard part…. I don’t make cards because… I’m too darn selfish, and I don’t like to give away my work!  Good job these are for a good cause, as they’ve all been taken from me now.

It’ll be pyramage for me next…… eeek!

Only two weeks on Friday until our next retreat, so we’ve been busy ordering in lots and lots of scrummy stash ready.  Including the two new Basic Grey releases coming out tomorrow… yum!  And the four most recent ones, loads of Thickers, candy dots, pebbles chips, Doodlebug alphas, MME papers, and the Corner Chomper oooo – just too much to list.

Save your pennies ladies, you’ll be needing them!

1 Comment

  1. Tracey said,

    Steph your cards are brilliant. Hope you manage to sort out your outfit and have a fantastic day

Leave a Reply

