Clippy Chick Kit – ‘leftovers’

13th August, 2008 at 6:57 pm (Uncategorized)



So, you may have already come across our Clippy Chick Kit and what we did with it here http://indigomill.blogspot.com/2008/07/inspiration-clippy-chick-kit.html

After creating the clipboard, I had absolutely loads of the kit leftover, so wanted to show you something else I’ve made with it, and just how versatile the kits we sell are, as well as how good they are value for money wise.

I decided to put to use my gorgeously strokeable new American Crafts Corduroy 6×12 album (Cherry) and start working in a new size and format, using the left hand half for title and photo and the right hand half for journalling. Speaking of the gorgeous cherry album – here it is:

This absolute piece of lusciousness is fab. It’s so soft and textured, whilst I’m sitting and scrapping and thinking, I find my hands wandering and stroking it for inspiration. Coming soon on our sister site…. (opening soon)

Anyways, I digress (as usual!) Back to the kit, I used the remaining strip of the buttercream Sassafrass paper for my main mat, and a piece of green glitter cardstock to mat my photo. The word mum uses the Sassafrass alphabet which I have mounted onto the Hopi coloured cardstock which comes in the kit, and just cut round with scissors. To contrast, I’ve threaded a dark purple organza ribbon through the lettering and fastened it to the page. The happiness stamp is one of my new ‘hostess gift’ stamps from a recent stampin’ up! party. All the flowers and arrows are remaining Sassafrass stickers, again mounted onto the Hopi cardstock and cut out, with brads in the centre. The background is from the Spring glitter DCWV stack (kit coming soon) which I absolutely LOVE!

On the right hand side, I have used another yellow piece of cardstock and stamped it with another stamp (En Francais by Stampin’Up!) and written my journalling onto it. Flowers again are Sassafrass stickers mounted and cut out, and purple organza ribbon and bow wrapped across the page to tie it in with the first page.

All the ladies at the crop commented on the use of sooo many colours on one page, but that it actually worked and didn’t overwhelm anything. To be honest, if I hadn’t found and used the purple ribbon, I’m not sure it would have worked.

And I *still* have soooo much of the kit left over for another page!

1 Comment

  1. sewsimple said,

    Wow that is fantastic well done for working outside of your comfort zone
    Marie

Leave a Reply

