Inspiration – Fun in the summer sun kit

20th July, 2008 at 7:19 pm (Uncategorized)


Anyone who knows me knows I’m a *huge* believer in the world of Doodlebug. If they made emulsion pain to use in your house, my husband would live in a very colourful world. So this was a challenge for me. A beautiful flower embossed WHITE paper by Doodlebug. Not the usual colours by doodlebug that I would use.

The embossing is so small and delicate, I had to use a way to bring it up to life. To do this, I drizzled a thin square of orange Anita’s acrylic pain around the edge and wiped it over with a wipe (can’t find the paintbrushes… my fault for letting the kids use them to ‘tickle’ with!) and you can see from the close up piccie how well this makes the embossed flowers stand out. You can get the same effect with chalks.

Wanted to stick with as few colours as I could, white, orange and black / dark brown to really make the emphasis the photos and the poem I wrote. I cut the letters from black card and the orange flocked paper (using Cosmo Cricket blackboard pieces as a template) and stuck them along a piece of Doodlebug stitched grosgrain, mounted this and the pictures onto a sheet of dark bazzill bling and then onto the page. I handwrote the poem using galaxy markers and put a small black heart in the top right corner. Add some hand drawn thin lines along the orange paint to make the frame and Voila!

Definitely Doodlebug with the bright orange, but definitely simpler than any usual doodlebug layout.

Can’t wait to show my mum…. bet you she cries!! LOL

2 Comments

  1. sewsimple said,

    No she didn’t cry but there was a very big lump in her throat and wet eyes
    Mum

  2. Karen said,

    Gorjus LO Steph.
    Love Karen x

Leave a Reply

