Inspiration – Bee’s Knee’s (Cherry Arte)

2nd July, 2008 at 10:09 pm (Uncategorized)


If you’ve looked at the ‘Start me off’ kit, or bought it and have it in front of you, chances are you’ve looked at this bright orange, pink and yellow paper and thought “What on earth will I do with that” or (hopefully not) “yuck!” Well, before you make up your mind, take a look at this. When I looked at the paper, I didn’t think about the colours, (although I love them) I looked at the patterns.

First I converted my picture to black and white so it wouldn’t clash with the colours of the paper then I hand cut the pink swirls from the page, leaving a little of the orange and yellow around it. I used these to make a ‘frame for my photo, putting foam pads under the very tips of the swirls to make them stand out. I would have added a touch of green torn paper in the two corners but didn’t have it with me, so had to use a turquoise instead. I tore two corner pieces of this and added one behind the photo and one in the opposite corner, and then concertina’d and stapled the top corner to balance the page. I hand drew and cut my title and added yellow doodling around everything with an American Crafts galaxy marker.

So what do you think of that paper now? Gonna give it a chance / try?

Leave a Reply

