Inspiration – Baylee’s Garden (Dream Street)

2nd July, 2008 at 8:14 pm (Uncategorized)

This is one of the pages from our first and foremost ‘Start me off’ kit aimed for complete beginners. I love this paper! At first glance you think, flowers! – GIRLY! But really, it is such soft colours, and only a border around the edge, that I think it could work well for boys too. I have used it in two ways, firstly for a picture of my gorgeous baby girl. I hand cut the flower border from the rest of the page, and backed it with the black card from the kit scalloped with scissors around two of the edges. I put sticky foam pads underneath one or two of the flowers to make them slightly 3D, and tucked my photo underneath. I didn’t use a mat on the photo as it stands out well against the black, and instead I die cut some swirls from the orange paper to use as a border around the top two sides of the photo.
I’ve also stuck on some tiny die cut paper flowers with white gel pen stems around the border. So I didn’t waste any of the gorgeous ledger paper middle, I have cut a square as a title block, and punched circles to journal on, all attached with brads.

** Such difference in pages from the same sheet of paper **


For this version, I’ve used the whole sheet, and made use of the ready printed ledger lines on it, so the focus of this page, isn’t the photo, it’s actually my journalling. So many people have difficulty journalling, but it’s my favourite part of scrapbooking. I find it so therapeutic. I used a craft knife to cut around a few of the flowers on the bottom of the border and slipped my photo behind it. Just any simple photo of yourself works fine, I’ve added a monogram ‘S’ as it’s about me, and the word secrets, as I’ve been very ‘frank’ about myself on this page. Looking through the urban lily Title It! chips, I found a couple of them which were just perfect for what I was writing about, and so included them into my journalling. I framed myself in the photo with some Junkitz circles, flowers to match the border and multicolour to match all the colours, and then doodled inside the letters to match around the flowers. A simple enough page for a beginner I think, and especially good to get people used to journalling as soon as they start scrapbooking.

NB – The Junkitz circles are from the ‘Dare to be Different’ Indigo Mill kit, and the Urban Lily Title It! Chip squares are from the ‘Journalling Junkie’ Indigo Mill kit, sold seperately

Leave a Reply

